\\ digital sparks\ digital sparks 03\ Jury 03

-digital sparks

Choose Interface



Panel of judges 2003

Jury digital sparks 2003
The submitted projects undergo a two-stage evaluation process: They are first assessed online by a preliminary panel of judges, who select individual projects to go through for final evaluation. Both the preliminary and the final panel of judges are made up of experts from the fields of media art, media design, media IT and media communication.
The criteria for evaluation are:
¬artistic concept of the work
¬its aesthetic and formal application
¬its technical implementation
¬the topicality and relevance of the project

Members of the jury

Rosanne Altstatt

» Edith Ruß Haus for Media Art, Oldenburg

Alfred Rotert

» European Media Art Festival (EMAF), Osnabrück

Isabel Podeschwa

» Kulturkreis der deutschen Wirtschaft im BDI e.V., Berlin

Gerfried Stocker

» Ars Electronica, Linz (A)

Dr. Andreas Broeckmann

» Transmediale Festival, Berlin

Dr. Hermann Lossau

» NRW Medien GmbH, Düsseldorf


The following experts could be won for the digital sparks 2003 selection committee:

Susanne Ackers

Media Art
» ZKM - Center for Art and Media, Karlsruhe

Alex Adriaansens

Media Art/Mediation
» V2_Organisation, Rotterdam (NL)

Prof. Dr. Marie-Luise Angerer

Art and Media Science
» Academy of Media Arts, Cologne

Konrad Becker

Hypermedia Researcher/Developer
» Institute for New Culture-Technologies, Vienna (A)

Prof. Kai Beiderwellen

Media Design
» University of Applied Sciences, Mannheim

Prof. Constantin Boytscheff

Digital Media, Architectural Representation
» University of Applied Sciences, Konstanz

Sabine Breitsameter

Experimental Radio and Acustic Media Art
» Audiohyperspace

Thea Brejzek

» Stage Director

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Coy

» Humboldt-University, Berlin

Ursula Damm

Media Art
» Academy of Media Arts, Cologne

Prof. Dr. Florian Dombois

Media Art
» Hochschule für Musik und Theater, Bern (CH)

Prof. Dr. Ursula Frohne

Art History
» International University Bremen

Prof. Klaus Gasteier

Interface- and Interaction Design
» personal homepage
» University of Applied Sciences, Aachen

Gerrit Gohlke

Media Art/Mediation
» Media Arts Lab, Künstlerhaus Bethanien, Berlin

Prof. Bernd Hanisch

» College of Art and Design, Halle

Prof. Philipp Heidkamp

» Köln International School of Design

Wolf Helzle

Media Art
» personal homepage

Prof. Dr. Michael Herczeg

Computer Sciences
» University of Lubeck

Christian Höller

Media Art
» Springerin, Wien (A)

Prof. Tjark Ihmels

Media Design
» Media Design Institute, University of Applied Sciences, Mainz

Prof. Ludwig John

Media Art
» University of Applied Sciences, Augsburg

Prof. Stefan Kim

Computer Sciences
» University of Applied Sciences, Brandenburg

Prof. Franz Kluge

Media Design
» University of Applied Sciences, Trier

Prof. Stefan Koppelkamm

Communication Design
» Kunsthochschule Berlin-Weissensee

Prof. Bernd Kracke

Electronic Media
» Hochschule für Gestaltung Offenbach am Main

Agnieszka Kubicka

Media Art/Mediation
» WRO - Center of Media Art (PL)

Prof. Jörg Lensing

Media Design/Acoustic Art
» University of Applied Sciences, Dortmund

Prof. Helmut Mark

Media Art
» Academy of Visual Arts, Leipzig

Prof. Dr. Karsten Morisse

Computer Sciences
» University of Applied Sciences, Osnabrück

Prof. Dr. Frieder Nake

Computer Sciences
» University of Bremen

Karin Ohlenschläger

Media Art/Mediation
» Co-Director Media Lab Madrid (E)

Dr. Danièle Perrier

Media Art/Mediation
» Künstlerhaus Schloß Balmoral, Bad Ems

Charlotte Pschhacker

Media Art/Mediation
» Art Image, Graz (A)

Elke Reinhuber

Media Design
» personal homepage
» Media Research Institute, Academy for Fine Arts and Design, Braunschweig

Prof. Michael Rodemer

Media Art
» University of Michigan, Ann Arbor (USA)

Stefan Römer

Media Theory and Media Art

Margit Rosen

Media Art
» Lothringer 13, Munich

Prof. Dr. Sigrid Schade

Media- and Cultural Theory
» University of Art and Design, Zurich (CH)

Prof. Giaco Schiesser

Media- and Cultural Theory
» University of Art and Design, Zurich (CH)

Prof. Dr. Gerhard Schmitt

Architecture and CAAD
» Swiss Federal Institute of Technnology Zurich (CH)

Dr. Holger Schulze

Media Art and Cultural Sciences
» Berlin University of the Arts

Prof. Dr. Anette Seelinger

Aesthetics, Communication and New Media
» University of Applied Sciences, Frankfurt

Dr. Wolf Siegert

Media Art/Mediation
» Director IRIS(R) Media, Berlin

Prof. Claudia Söller-Eckert

Media Design
» University of Applied Sciences, Darmstadt

Prof. Dipl. Des. Torsten Stapelkamp

Interaction- and Interfacedesign
» University of Applied Sciences, Bielefeld

Prof. Stahl Stenslie

Media Art
» personal homepage
» Academy of Media Arts, Cologne

Prof. Peter Friedrich Stephan

Theory and Design of Hypermedia
» Academy of Media Arts, Cologne

Reinhard Storz

Art Critic and Media Theory
» personal homepage
» Academy of Art and Design, Basel (CH)

Prof. Dr. Christoph Tholen

Media Sciences
» University of Basel (CH)

Prof. Salvatore Vanasco

Media Art/Mediation
» Merz Akademie, Stuttgart

Prof. Frans Vogelaar

Media Design/Hybrid Space
» Academy of Media Arts, Cologne

Lawrence Wallen

Media Art

Prof. Eku Wand

Media Design/Multimedia
» personal homepage
» Media Research Institute, Academy for Fine Arts and Design, Braunschweig

Ulrich Wegenast

New Media and Public Relations
» wand5 e.V., Stuttgart

Prof. Ullrich Weinberg

» Academy for Film and Television Postdam-Babelsberg, HFF

Dr. Thomas Winkler

Multimedia- and Interactive Systems
» University of Lubeck

Andrea Zapp

Media Art
» personal homepage
» Institute of Research in Art and Design, Manchester Metropolitan University (GB)

Annett Zinsmeister

Art History
» Kunsthochschule Berlin-Weißensee

Prof. Dr. Gerd Zimmermann

Design and Architectural Theory
» Bauhaus-University Weimar